top of page

The Four Fundamentals from the Twelve Books of Minor Prophets (Hebrews 1:1-2)

Sermon on 16 January 2022 by Ps Justin


The books of the minor prophets, from Hosea to Malachi, allow us to see the holiness of God, wrath of God, and the mercy of God. The four fundamentals from the twelve books is about behavioural change. They are about repentance, turning away from sin. Although these twelve books of the minor prophets are in the Old Testament, you will see Jesus in every book of the twelve books of the minor prophets. The Old Testament contains the New Testament, and the New Testament explains the Old Testament.


God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, has in these last days spoken to us by His Son, whom He has appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the worlds; - Hebrews 1:1-2

God talks to us through His Son by the power of the Holy Spirit. Read the word. The knowledge of the will of God is about your obedience. The more you know His word, the more you will obey, and the more you will want to know His will.

Then He said to them, “O foolish ones, and slow of heart to believe in all that the prophets have spoken! – Luke 24:25

Jesus is the greatest prophet. We are to participate in His prophetic mission, by telling people about Christ. Christ is the central message of the Old Testament.

And beginning at Moses and all the Prophets, He expounded to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning Himself. – Luke 24:27

God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, - Hebrews 1:1

Why is it important to know the Old Testament? You have to know His law. Otherwise, you will fall into sin. There will be many signs of the end times – war, famine, plague, hatred, false prophets (Matthew 24:11). Deuteronomy 13 provides us with a test whether a prophet is true or false. Do not follow anything that is not pleasing to God. Prophets are God’s spirit-endowed servants and spokesmen. They are not prophets by way of their own effort; they are motivated by the Holy Spirit.

for prophecy never came by the will of man, but holy men of God spoke as they were moved by the Holy Spirit. – 2 Peter 1:21

The Torah refers to the first 5 books of the bible. They talk about obedience, returning to God and repenting.

and you return to the Lord your God and obey His voice, according to all that I command you today, you and your children, with all your heart and with all your soul, - Deuteronomy 30:2

What is the supplementary element? This refers to predictive prophecy. All predictions are intended to lead us to repentance and obedience.

The twelve’s message is about judgement, instruction, and hope for salvation. The twelve’s emphasis is on:

  • sin – Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah

  • punishment – Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah

  • restoration – Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi

The twelve’s four fundamentals are:

  1. The holiness of God

  2. The sinfulness of man

  3. The righteousness, judgement and mercy of God

  4. The sovereignty of God over the nations

The Holiness of God (Psalm 96:9, Isaiah 6:3, Revelation 4:8)

And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” – Isaiah 6:3

The sinfulness of man (Isaiah 59:2, Exodus 20:3-17)

You will see how the nation of Israel turn away from God.

The righteousness, judgement, and mercy of God (Lamentations 1:18, 2 Corinthians 5:10, Lamentations 3:22-23)

His mercy is for all of us.

The sovereignty of God over the nations (Genesis 1:1, 1 Chronicles 29:11)

In the very beginning of the bible, God already expressed His sovereignty. Everything in heaven and on earth is His.


Remember that the central message is about behavioural change. Let us return to the Lord and obey.

29 views0 comments


bottom of page